Idol Records StoreLongBar
Flying On Instruments Limited Edition Blue LP Signed & Numbered
Flying On Instruments Limited Edition Blue LP Signed & Numbered
Vanessa Peters


Vinyl $ 30.00 IR194LP BUY NOW

Track Listing:
1. Beauty Or Grace
2. Halfway Through
3. Blind Curves
4. Better
5. Pinball Heart
6. Out To Sea
7. How Long
8. Hey Claire
9. Wasted Days
Comes in a full-color gatefold jacket complete with lyrics. Autographed and hand numbered by Vanessa. Blue vinyl limited edition of 300 copies.

Weaving thoughtful, introspective lyrics with irresistible melodies, Vanessa Peters has been releasing album after album of well-crafted folk/rock gems for nearly two decades. She has played thousands of shows across the US and Europe and has opened for artists like Josh Rouse, Nina Persson & James Yorkston, 10,000 Maniacs, John Oates, and Matthew Sweet. Her last two releases with Idol Records brought widespread critical acclaim - a 4-star review in MOJO, 8 of 10 stars in Der Spiegel and a feature in Rolling Stone Germany, and invitations to NPR's Mountain Stage, 30A, and AmericanaFest.
While her previous release, "Modern Age," was raucous and rowdy, Peters' new album, "Flying on Instruments" is a heart-rending return to the format that reviewers and fans have come to expect from Peters. Standout singles include "Halfway Through (AAA/Country)," "Better (AAA/Soft Rock)," and "Pinball Heart (Pop/Rock)".
Co-produced by Grammy-winning producer Joe Reyes, "Flying on Instruments" represents a return to a more pure folk-pop/rock form; the production is stripped-down and centers largely around the piano. "For this record we wanted to really hear the band playing together, especially our amazing pianist Matteo, who kinda got lost in all the guitars on the last album," explained Peters. "We recorded most of these songs live in the room, arranging the songs together as we went along. Everything feels very direct and honest."
The album takes its name from "How Long," which deals with the unpredictability of everyday life. Vanessa explained, "in the context of the song, 'flying on instruments,' refers to having to keep going forward even though you can't see ahead, which is a common theme on this album. We loved the dual meaning of the phrase so much that we decided to make it the title of the album."
This collection of songs is introspective and hopeful; in the single "Halfway Through," Peters notes "I'm still trying to figure out what to carry, what to leave behind, and what I can do without." She showcases that hard-won freedom and guarded optimism in "Better" when she sings, "I've spent nearly all my life worrying about what others think of me, and even though it's better now, I can't say that I'm free -- but it's better, it's a whole lot better."
For years Vanessa Peters has showcased her songwriting ability, releasing albums that have run the gamut from indie-pop to alt-country to experimental folk to 70s-era throwback singer/songwriter rock. With "Flying on Instruments," Vanessa and her band have once again crafted a beautiful album that is powerful yet sensitive, brimming with hope and empathy.